Schengen visa

The Schengen Visa has made traveling between the 26 Schengen-Area member countries (22 European Union states and 4 non-EU members) much simpler and easier. Traveling on a Schengen Visa means that the visa holder can travel to any (or all) member countries using one single visa, thus avoiding the hassle and expense of obtaining individual visas for each country. This is particularly beneficial for persons who wish to visit several European countries during the same trip. The Schengen visa is a visitor visa. It is issued to citizens of countries who are required to obtain a visa before entering Europe.


The purpose of the visit must be leisure, tourism, or business. Upon issuance of the visa, the visa holder is allowed to enter all member countries and travel freely throughout the Schengen area for the duration specified on the visa, up to a maximum of 90 days in each 180 day period. It is strongly recommended to plan your journey within the specified validity of your Schengen Visa as extensions can be very difficult to obtain, thus forcing you to leave to stay in compliance with the Schengen rules and regulations. A Schengen visa allows the holder to travel freely within the Schengen countries for a maximum stay of up to 90 days in a 6 month period, but shorter visas can be granted.

Schengen Visa Countries

All Schengen countries are in Europe. However, it should not be confused with the EU (European Union). The European Union and the Schengen Area come from two different agreements between European countries. A total of 26 countries, including all European Union countries (except Ireland and the United Kingdom) and four non-EU members (Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland) have signed the Schengen agreement.

NB! Schengen Visa holders are not allowed to live permanently or work in Europe. Schengen Visa holders only have the right to travel, for business or pleasure, as a temporary visitor to member countries. For the possibility to live in Europe see our residence permit page.

Schengen visa countries

The Schengen visa are applicable in:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

A Residence permit in one Schengen country allows the holder to travel and do business anywhere in the Schengen area, for up to 90 days at a time, in each country of the Schengen Area, as well as to live and work in the Schengen state that issued the residency, for up to 5 years, however a Schengen visa only allows an individual to travel within the whole Schengen area for maximum of 90 days, up until the end of the validity of the Visa.