European Union

The European Union (EU) is an economic and political union of 28 member states that are located primarily in Europe. The EU operates through a system of supranational independent institutions and intergovernmental negotiated decisions by the member states. Institutions of the EU include the European Commission, the Council of the European Union, the European Council, the European Court of Justice, the European Central Bank, the Court of Auditors, and the European Parliament. The European Parliament is elected every five years by EU citizens. The EU's de facto capital is Brussels.

EU member states

The European Union comprises 28 sovereign member states (accession year):

On the road to EU membership

Candidate countries are Iceland, Montenegro, Serbia, North Macedonia, Turkey.

Potential candidates are Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo*
* This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244/99 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.

Thus, for now, these countries cannot serve as an entry point for the immigration to the European Union. If wish to become a resident of one of the member-states, however, please use the form on the right side of the page, or refer to the page dedicated to immigration to the EU countries.