What is the Schengen Area?

F.A.Q. answer:
The Schengen Area is a group of European countries (26 countries as of 7 July 2013), which have cancelled passport and other immigration controls between their common borders. This territory functions almost like a single country with a common visa policy, albeit that individual states still manage their own policies with regard to working permission. (See Schengen visa)