Immigration to Austria

Introducing the Republic of Austria: Austria can be described as one of the oldest and most beautiful European countries. Statistics show that the population of Austria is currently around 8.4 million people. The biggest single ethnic group being Austrian (81%).

The Official currency of Austria is the Euro (EUR). Austria is a member state of the European Union and of the Schengen area, which provides many benefits for its residents.

Austria is also unique within the EU by being the only EU member state to currently offer a legal Economic Citizenship program, allowing a direct path to citizenship with no residency requirements for individuals and their families , where these are able to make a contribution of several million euros to the Austrian government and it's people.

Immigration services

The Immigration, Citizenship and Registration Office is Responsible for immigration services in Austria, provided through its many municipal departments.
Here are three companies, offering immigration services in Austria:

Lawful Immigration

In order to visit Austria legally, a visa-requiring immigrant needs to be in possession of a valid Schengen visa issued by either Austria or another Schengen state. Austria's legal regulations on the immigration of non-EU citizens to Austria set out the requirements for an individual to have such a visa issued by the state of Austria, as well as defining 'visa free' countries, citizens of which do not require a visa for short term visits.

Government immigration site for Austria.

Immigration Statistics

According to statistics, around 19% of the population of Austria are immigrants. The largest single group of immigrants come from Eastern European countries.

Largest cities by population

The biggest city by populaton in Austria is Vienna. It is 6 times bigger than the second biggest city – Graz. Vienna is an ancient European center of art, culture, music and the opera.

Migration in and out of Schengen area

The Kingdom of Austria is a member state of the Schengen area. Countries of the Schengen Agreement have abolished passport and immigration control at their common borders and for travel between their member states. Member countries also recognize Schengen visas issued by other Schengen states. On the outer border, or upon first entry to the Schengen area, normal immigration control procedures apply, however admission to any Schengen country is considered admission to the whole Schengen area (all member countries), with no further immigration checks needed.

Citizens of non-EU countries wishing to stay in Austria for more than three months must apply for a residency permit, which is called Aufenthaltsbewilligungen.

Residence permit

In order to stay in Austria in excess of 90 days, you need to obtain a residence permit. Austrian immigration policy is quite strict. Residence permits are given for a certain purpose and will not be extended after the purpose is fulfilled. Some kinds of Aufenthaltsbewilligungen entitle the holder to bring also spouses, civil partners and underage children, some do not. There are no quotas applied to any kind of residence permit in Austria.

You can read more here -